Givemeapaintbrush

reviving vintage furniture with paint, stencils, wax, and more. Home decor.

Just joined WordPress

Leave a comment

I am new to WordPress not not really to blogging. Just changing my blog over here to get better acquainted with folks 🙂

So this is me :

Image

I am 50 +, single and have two German Shepherds and two kitties. My dogs are both 5 years old and they are my life. My kitties, one is 13 years young, and the other is about 7.

We have always lived in Washington state, but last July we relocated to Oregon….eastern OR, where instead of rain all the time, there is snow in the winter and sunshine in the summer. My parents are starting to need a little help here and there and my older brother has MS. He has been here for two years now and bought a house that was built in 1890. As soon as he said I could live with him, my bags were packed!

Since moving here, I have helped my brother to put up a new fence and do other remodeling projects as needed. I have been looking for work and to date have not found anything. Winter time here is really not the best time to look for a job. So it has been a long and boring winter so far.

That brought me to the world of blogging, but more importantly, gave me tons of time to look around on Pinterest and find a few things that interested me enough to blog about. I am totally inspired and ready to rock and roll. Of course, being on unemployment has not been the easiest to get my projects under way.

I started out with some home made chalk paint and a board my brother gave me…just a board..like a 4×2 I think, or something like that. I went to my local Ace Hardware one day and discovered Paint pods, shown below. Notice the table this Paint Pod is sitting on? It is destined to be my first sizable project for either Chalk Paint or Milk Paint once I decide what I want to do with it.

Image

I painted my board and decorated it. I also did a teeny tiny bit of distressing a long the edges but it doesn’t show in this photo.

Image

I was just killing time when I did this. The names are my daughter’s middle name, and both of her daughter’s middle names.

Before messing with paint, I also found the world of pallets and grabbed a couple and ‘built’ myself an extra little shelf for my room. I still have pallet projects to do but to be honest, it is just too darn cold out there to mess with them right now. My pallet shelf is on the bottom, and has since been stained darker because I did not like the yellow paint on it.

Image

I have also painted some other shelves and waxed them up for the wall at the head of my bed. They still need some work so I am not picturing them here for now. The main purpose for all of this was to get the feel of chalk paint and how it works.

Then after Christmas I ordered myself a woodburning set. Again my brother came to the rescue with a couple slabs of Mahogany, and I made this Rose.

Image

And of course I had to check out the Mason Jar cool things to do and made those two candle holders next to my Rose. After all of this, I was bored once again so I decided to paint the rose

Image

Now that I have experimented, I want to try Milk Paint! I need to save up my pennies and find a retailer fast! I am going to work for an Auction House, and I buy a lot of stuff from them. My goal is to start getting nice pieces that don’t sell at the auctions and painting them up for resell. The town I live in is a small historical town and we have a few events during the spring and summer that brings in tourists where I can sell my pieces. I would like nothing more than to supplement my income with something I have fun doing!

Time for me to go cook dinner, but first let me thank you for stopping by my new blog and looking. There will be more as soon as I can get some pieces finished. And if you know how to get your hands on Milk Paint …Please let me know!!

Author: Bev

Just moved to an old Historic town in Oregon, to be closer to my elderly parents. Sharing a house with my brother that was built in 1890. I have two German Shepherds that love to walk, romp and play, swim and anything else as long as it is with me. My interests are in home decor, gardening, and remaking furniture by repairing, painting and breathing new life into it. Trying to learn all I can about blogging too!

Leave a Reply

