Givemeapaintbrush

reviving vintage furniture with paint, stencils, wax, and more. Home decor.

My beginnings

Leave a comment

I think I need to show you all how I am beginning in the world of crafting…repurposing…upcycling.

Mind you, I di not have a creative bone in my body, so I am squeezing what I can out to start with and things look so corny to me.

This was my very first project and it was something to kill time. My daughter’s middle name is Hope. She has two daughter’s whose middles names are Faith and Love. I did their names freestyle, while letting my mind wonder down memory lane.

One day last week my brother, who is remodeling this old house he bought in July and which we live in, gave me some shelves from the closet he was working on. I washed them with TSP and the paint peeled right off.

I don’t have a picture of this part yet, but I mixed us some home made Chalk Paint with what I had on hand, yellow, and red, and some grey I think. Anywhos….I painted the top of the shelves with that. I really like the color. Once it was dry, I put a couple of coats of paste wax on it to repel anything that ‘may’ get spilled. These shelves have a trim o them so items can’t slip off and they were painted white. I stained on top of the white paint and let it dry for several days. I didn’t want the shelves to wait any longer so today I used what I had on hand from my cute little Paint Pods and because I want some color in my life suddenly, one is olive gree and one is sky blue. These shelves will be at the head ofthe bed, so I am the only one who will be looking at the undeside of them anyway.

 

AFter Christmas I bought myself a woodburning set and when my brother gave two slabs of Mahogany I went right to work on one. I did this Rose.

Then last week I was bored so I painted it

Somewhere in the middle of all this I also made some candle holders out of mason jars…the kind you can change the candle any time you want a different look. Can’t find that pic this minute either, go figure!

I have two gorgeous German Shepherds that I often go out to just play with. Got my brother to take some pics of us one day

and because I adore them so much here is their Christmas picture

When my brother gave me the Mahogany, he also gave me a stack of about 7 old windows. Two have no glass and 5 have glass, but one is missing one piece..one little window.

As soon as my order of Miss Mustard Seeds Milk Paint comes in, I will go to work on these and on the twin head board and foot board he gave me (frame included although it is metal)

I also take care of my elderly parents. My mom is showing signs of dementia, has had several surgeries, including back surgery, a cataract surgery and more so she is becoming more frail. My dad just had his first cataract surgery and is not doing well from that, but has his second one scheduled for the 31 of this month. Mom can’t drive, and hasn’t for years, and now dad can’t either. I take them to appointments, shopping, and help around their house. Speaking of which, tomorrow is another busy day of shopping and what not so see you all on the flip side!

 

 

Author: Bev

Just moved to an old Historic town in Oregon, to be closer to my elderly parents. Sharing a house with my brother that was built in 1890. I have two German Shepherds that love to walk, romp and play, swim and anything else as long as it is with me. My interests are in home decor, gardening, and remaking furniture by repairing, painting and breathing new life into it. Trying to learn all I can about blogging too!

Leave a Reply

