Givemeapaintbrush

reviving vintage furniture with paint, stencils, wax, and more. Home decor.

Our kitchen is Gutted!

Leave a comment

With new cabinets delivered last Monday, there was bound to be a lot of work to come. Little did I know it was going to be back breaking work! I expected to have a few tough spots, but yesterday was The.Worst! 

I live with my brother is a house built in 1890 and it was in serious need of TLC and updates. Having always lived in rentals, I was never in the middle of a home renovation before. So this is all new to me. I moved here 6 months ago right after he bought the house, to help with our elderly parents. Little did I know, I would quickly find myself working as hard as ever in the house renovation as well as caring for our folks.

So yesterday was the Big Day. First thing in the morning, he started ripping out more old cupboards. Several of the new uppers are in already, but it was the lowers that would cause the work. By noon, he was close to ready to lay new linoleum. I had helped to remove the counter with the sink, and at this time, it is in the back yard. 

Here are a few pics of our disaster. 

Image

Image

Image

 

While the house is plenty big enough for us to live in, it is far from big enough to live in at the same time we renovate!! 

So we finally are ready to lay the linoleum. Of course it’s measurements are not exact. It is much bigger than we need. That’s a good thing, right? Not in our opinion now!! I believe we fought with the overly large linoleum for at least two hours. I mean, who is watching the clock? 

We had it turned to cut it to size, and in the process had it upsaide down and then had to turn it back to twhere it would be forever, and had to flip it right side up too. We discovered it is delicate enough that it will rip. And in the middle of twisting and turning this huge piece of very delicate linoleum, my brother looks up at me and says “I have never done this before! “Imagine my Surprise! All I could say, as we were laughing pretty hard, was “Well, neither have I!”

 

This morning coffee was served in our dining room that is stacked high with everything from the kitchen, new cabinets, and a fridge and range. The range is nearly in the living room. As we waited for the coffee to brew, we had some more good laughs over he who had never laid linoleum before. 

Next post will be the new and improved Kitchen with our delicate linoleum. Make sure you come back to see how bea-U-tiful it is!

Author: Bev

Just moved to an old Historic town in Oregon, to be closer to my elderly parents. Sharing a house with my brother that was built in 1890. I have two German Shepherds that love to walk, romp and play, swim and anything else as long as it is with me. My interests are in home decor, gardening, and remaking furniture by repairing, painting and breathing new life into it. Trying to learn all I can about blogging too!

Leave a Reply

