Givemeapaintbrush

reviving vintage furniture with paint, stencils, wax, and more. Home decor.

Sneak Peek

Leave a comment

This is the sneak peek of my desk as it begins to take shape. 

Image

This is a front lower corner. See the difference in the materials it is made of?

Here is one of the 6 drawers

Image

I have sanded and sanded trying to get all the nicks and gouges out. I have been jabbed by splinters and the tips of my fingers hurt. It is crazy how rough this desk was. It definitely has a history. It was built in 1927~ and has served it purpose for a very long time. 

But it was unloved in the process. No finish, no waxes. Just a bare old desk working hard to serve its people. So I decided all the sanding and poked fingers were worth it to show it some love. 

The paint was complimentary from The Old Fashioned Milk Paint Company. I LOVE working with this paint. I got safepaint to ensure it would be safe in any home, even with small children or babies. 

It will take several more days to complete this beast, but it is well worth the effort, in my opinion. 

Author: Bev

Just moved to an old Historic town in Oregon, to be closer to my elderly parents. Sharing a house with my brother that was built in 1890. I have two German Shepherds that love to walk, romp and play, swim and anything else as long as it is with me. My interests are in home decor, gardening, and remaking furniture by repairing, painting and breathing new life into it. Trying to learn all I can about blogging too!

Leave a Reply

