Givemeapaintbrush

reviving vintage furniture with paint, stencils, wax, and more. Home decor.

Happy Mpther’s Day!

Leave a comment

Happy Mother;s Day to all the wonderful Women in the world! It truly is amazing and beautiful to celebrate women of the world!

I don’t post often enough here and while I would like to try to grow this blog, I just can’t get over here often enough. I have been putting my time and efforts into a website and my Blogger blog, and painting and getting ready for the next phase of my adventure in the DIY world. And I admit, I still enjoy wasting time on FaceBook, and forget to come over to say hello here. 

These past few months was filled with a dream and uncertainty. I was following my dream and uncertain if it would be accepted well in this town. 

But yesterday validated that my dream Will be accepted and embraced! I had a yard sale to try to get an idea of how people like painted furniture. I can say this…..My yard sale was a HUGE success, and I sold out in a matter of two hours! I met people in town here that were enthusiastic about my work and people who are interesed in getting to know me better, and even a guy who is interested in having me paint something for him in the future. My yard sale was supposed to run towo days and I had to close it after two hours. What that says to me is that I didn’t have enough to offer. Ladies were looking for fabric, yarn and dresser’s. Men, of course were looking for tools, and even books. So now that I know that my style and tastes were well received. I will be moving forward with my venture. 

Next steps for me is to get my hands on more furniture! Paint up a storm! Recreate pieces, restore pieces, decorate, design, and craft. Also, I am going to look into getting business cards made up, and possibly obtain a business license. The biggest step is getting into a shop. But for that, I have to make enough money first so the shop will not happen until next year. I have hopes of getting into one by next summer. 

My Hutch, farm desk, a little end table, a curvy desk and a few other items sold, and I made $250.00. My dad sold his generator and made $125 and mom sold something making $30.for a grand total of $405!  They were happy and I was on cloud 9! I have never ever seen a yard sale go sooooo well and soooo fast! My brother was going to take what was left over to a fair on Memorial weekend to sell for me, but there is nothing left to take. 

 

IN OTHER NEWS:

I am taking a trip over Memorial Day weekend. First I am going to my home state of Washington, to my son’s house. The day after I arrive, we are leaving to go to Montana. My first born grandchild is Graduating High School. We will be there to celebrate his success. Once we get back, I am spending a few days with my daughter and her girls. I am so excited to see my kids and grandkids! I will be coming home to Oregon on June 2nd and at that point will paint away till the next big fair in July. Believe me, I want to be ready for some heavy duty action and to make a lot of people smile this summer! So to get there, my vacation is much needed. I have never been to Montana so when I return I will share some of the thousands of photo’s I will be taking along the way. 

 

Thank you all for your support and again, Happy Mother’s Day! 

Author: Bev

Just moved to an old Historic town in Oregon, to be closer to my elderly parents. Sharing a house with my brother that was built in 1890. I have two German Shepherds that love to walk, romp and play, swim and anything else as long as it is with me. My interests are in home decor, gardening, and remaking furniture by repairing, painting and breathing new life into it. Trying to learn all I can about blogging too!

Leave a Reply

