Givemeapaintbrush

reviving vintage furniture with paint, stencils, wax, and more. Home decor.

Working as a waitress

Leave a comment

After many many years of Not working in restaurants that is exactly what I am doing again. At 56 years old (almost 57!) I am working at a truck stop, where it is extremely busy. I was in training for their cash system and learning the menu for 5 days, and went straight into my schedule which is an additional 3 days before getting a day off. 8 days, then one day off one more work day then Finally 2 days off. Tired is not the word. This morning I was completely exhausted, my legs and feet ache, and I was feeling unstable in my feet.

The good news is that I have my own house here now. Rather than living with my brother, my pets & I are in a rental house that is large enough for us to be more than comfortable. It is so great to have my own place AND a job no matter how exhausting the work is because I can come home to a home I am comfy in!

I am still working on restoring pieces of furniture and doing other crafts. I am in the middle of working on some captains chairs, and I have several other pieces that are waiting for fabulous things to be done to them. I still have a spare bedroom to decorate and  have tons of ideas, plus the rest of the house has endless potential. Now time will be a major factor in getting it done since I have a job to go to. Plus the fact that I am caring for my parents and older brother…not that they need a lot right now, but I do have to keep up to speed on what’s happening with all of them just in case. Last but not least I need to spend time with my pets so they don’t feel neglected….my pair of German Shepherds are not happy that I went back to work and are already feeling neglected. They want ‘mommy’ to go out and play with them and to go places to have fun. So in time I will find a happy balance, but for the moment, I am doing my best to learn the job and to work towards the goal of balancing my time well to fit it all in.

I also just got a new computer so I am working on getting my pictures uploaded and saved so I can share, so right now I don’t have anything to post but know I will be back as soon as I can!

 

Author: Bev

Just moved to an old Historic town in Oregon, to be closer to my elderly parents. Sharing a house with my brother that was built in 1890. I have two German Shepherds that love to walk, romp and play, swim and anything else as long as it is with me. My interests are in home decor, gardening, and remaking furniture by repairing, painting and breathing new life into it. Trying to learn all I can about blogging too!

Leave a Reply

